Skip to Main Content

Library

Resources

Aquinas Library offers over 160 databases from these vendors: OCLC, EBSCO, ProQuest, JSTOR, and more. Choose from among the vendors listed here, or find what you need by subject in Aquinas College Library's research guides.

Your can access our Databases on or off campus:
When accessing these databases off-campus, you will be prompted for your ID# for user authentication. This is found on your Aquinas ID card under the barcode. Make sure that you have gotten your ID card activated at the Aquinas College Library before attempting to use the databases off campus. If you have any questions, email or call the Library staff at 615-297-7545, ex. 435.

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.
ATLA Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Historical manuscripts, photographs, paintings, woodcuts, and other artistic works related to religious leaders and movements, places of worship, and religious historical events, and more!
College Source Online This link opens in a new window
is a database of 104,750 digital college catalogs,
institution profiles, transcript keys, and other critical resources.
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Open Access Journals and repositories curated by university librarians.
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
provides access to eBooks and Humanities Source database. Humanities Source offers over 1,300 journals and magazines on History, Literature, Theology, Philosophy, and more!
Education Collection This link opens in a new window
provides full-text access to books, journals, and dissertations in ERIC [the US Department of Ed database] and other leading education journals (1,000 total).

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
resources for education research and professional development from the US Department of Education

First Search This link opens in a new window
Searches 12 databases, including ArticleFirst: Click on the Database tab, choose your databases, click Select, and search!
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
allow users to search multidisciplinary databases, including Academic OneFile, and General OneFile, and have access to many full-text and peer-reviewed articles from 1980 to the present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Include the latest editions of the New Catholic Encyclopedia, Twayne's Authors Series, resources for math, science, history, and more.
JSTOR Complete Archive Journals This link opens in a new window
more than 2,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Open Access Digital Theological Library This link opens in a new window
high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections
Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
High-quality peer-reviewed open access and subscription journals, mostly in the sciences.
Click "Only show content I have full access to" in the left filter menu.
Tennessee Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Find Praxis and other test prep materials, as well as teacher resources and 70 databases provided by the State of TN.

American Literature

Publication cover image New Blackfriars

2012-2022

(on campus access or

off campus use with NPL library card)

You can use Google Scholar to find articles in our print journals by putting the title of that journal in the "Return articles published in" slot in advanced search. Once you find an article you need, just go to our print magazine section in the main library or our back issue shelves in the "library office" to get it.

To enable links for digital content to which Aquinas Library subscribes, add Aquinas College Library as a library link under Settings in the top left dropdown menu. WARNING: Not all open access articles found through Google Scholar are credible. Use the How to Evaluate Sources guide in the help tab, or simply use our library's catalog search which also searches over 300 carefully evaluated open access collections.

Caveat: Google Scholar is best for libraries with extensive database subscriptions for access to content.

Need Further Assistance?

Still looking to add something extra to your research project? Check out the following link for more free resources.

Free Online Resources
Academically acceptable free online resources:
Scripture, Fathers of the Church, St. Thomas, Educational, and more!

Aquinas Library

4210 Harding Pike

Nashville, TN 37205

Phone: 615-297-7545 ext.435

InterLibrary Loan: ext 435