Aquinas Library: History Research Guide: Databases

Historic Newspapers

Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers
American newspapers published between 1690-present
New York Times 1851 to 1922
Enter a date range and hit search. Any full-text articles available from that time will result.
Catholic News Archive
thousands of Catholic newspaper pages, from different cities, over multiple years
Georgia Historic Newspapers
Find newspaper articles as far back as 1847.
The Nashville Tennessean
1812 - 2002 issues of the Nashville Tennessean provided by TEL
Boston College Digitized Newspapers
Historic publications of Boston College (Jesuit)
Making of America Journals (U of Mich.)
A 19th-century journal archive kept by the University of Michigan: includes Catholic World, Southern Quarterly Review, Vanity Fair (1860-62), and more!

EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source
Gale Databases This link opens in a new window
The Gale history resources includes the Academic OneFile, U.S. History Collection, World History Collection, Military and Intelligence Database Collection, War and Terrorism Collection, Pop Culture Collection, and InfoTrac Newsstand.
JSTOR Complete Archive Journals This link opens in a new window
more than 2,000 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences
Tennessee Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Find the Tennessee Encyclopedia of History and Culture and the Tennessee Virtual Archive (TeVA) in TEL.
Digital Commons Network This link opens in a new window
Open Access Journals and repositories curated by university librarians.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
includes over four million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more.

British History Online
A digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland, with a primary focus on the period between 1300 and 1800. Includes maps, archival documents of institutions, and more!
Catholic Portal
Rare, unique and/or uncommon materials in Catholic libraries, seminaries, special collections and archives
Digital Library of Tennessee
145,000 unique cultural heritage resources from libraries, archives, and museums in the state of Tennessee
eHistory (OSU)
A collection of primary sources, documentary material, online books and reviews by the OSU History Department
Making of America Journals (Cornell)
A 19th-century journal archive including The Atlantic Monthly, The American Whig Review, The American Missionary, and more!
U of Chicago History Collections
Digitized papers of Jefferson Davis and other historical figures, historic photos, maps, and more!
Perseus Digital Library
Contains documentation, with sketches and photographs, of archaic and classical Greece to 146 BC.

American Presidency Project
Find presidential papers, election information, and audio/video archive of presidential speeches.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1777 to Present
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
the records and acts of Congress from the Continental Congress and Constitutional Convention through the 43rd Congress, including the first three volumes of the Congressional Record, 1873-75
Digitised Manuscripts - British Library
Find ancient, medieval, and 19th century manuscripts from multiple countries, even British-sided publications on the American Civil War.
First World War Poetry Digital Archive
an online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video
Humanities Magazine
The magazine of the National Endowment for the Humanities--back issues available to 1997
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Find historic maps, presidential papers, historic photographs, and Civil War resources.
National Registry of Historic Places
from the National Park Service
National Women's History Museum
Information on notable women in history
UNdata 1948+
US Census Bureau
Find Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970