Skip to main content
Subject Specific Databases
JSTOR Language and Literature
is an excellent source of full text academic journal articles and eBooks for Language and Literature.
Gale Literary Sources
Searches all of Gale's literary databases. Find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism and analysis, reviews, and author biographies.
How to Use JSTOR
Find tips and tools for research with JSTOR here.
Why journal articles?
Journal articles provide narrow, focused coverage of a topic.
Journal articles are also very useful because they can provide a current, up-to-date analysis of a topic.
Other helpful databases
19: Interdisciplinary Studies in the Long Nineteenth Century
an open access, scholarly, peer-reviewed online journal dedicated to advancing interdisciplinary study in the nineteenth century
A repository of open-access scholarship and teaching materials developed by the Modern Language Association (MLA).
Emily Dickinson Archive
images of Dickinson’s surviving manuscripts
First World War Poetry Digital Archive
an online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video
Archive of Recorded Poetry and Literature
contains nearly 2,000 recordings—of poets and prose writers participating in literary events at the Library of Congress’s Capitol Hill campus and at the Library’s Recording Laboratory
British Library Articles on Literature
Find articles on authors and their works of various periods.
Digitised Manuscripts - British Library
Find ancient, medieval, and 19th century manuscripts from multiple countries.
Voices from the Gap: Women Artists & Writers of Color
biographical information on women and minority authors put out by the University of Minnesota
Cervantes: Text and Image
Collection of scanned editions of Don Quixote and associated texts focusing on illustrations and critical texts.
Electronic Full-text Sources
"searchable" encoded texts of English Poetry, Italian Women Writers, American Poetry, the Patrologia Latina Database, North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae, and more.
American Doctoral Dissertations
Includes more than 172,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 80,000 new citations for theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
International Journal of English Studies
IJES is a top-ranking open access journal published by the University of Murcia, Spain.
Journal of Writing Research
The Journal of Writing Research is an international peer reviewed open access journal that publishes high quality theoretical, empirical, and review papers covering the broad spectrum of writing research. The Journal primarily publishes papers that describe scientific studies of the processes by which writing is produced or the means by which writing can be effectively taught. The journal is inherently cross-disciplinary, publishing original research in the different domains of writing research.
Translation and Interpreting
Open access journal hosted by Western Sydney University
4210 Harding Pike
Nashville, TN 37205
Phone: 615-297-7545 ext.435
InterLibrary Loan: ext 435